Loading please wait

The smart way to improve grades

Comprehensive & curriculum aligned

Try an activity or get started for free

Interpreting Tables: What is the Time Difference?

In this worksheet, students interpret data about time differences around the world and answer questions.

'Interpreting Tables: What is the Time Difference?' worksheet

Key stage:  KS 2

Curriculum topic:   Statistics

Curriculum subtopic:   Complete, Read and Interpret Tables

Difficulty level:  

Worksheet Overview

This table shows the times around the world compared to London's time, which is known as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

When the table shows GMT-3 for Brazil, it means the time in Brazil is the current time in London minus 3 hours.

When the table shows GMT+2 for South Africa, it means the time in South Africa is the current time in London plus 2 hours.

Times around the world

For Example:

When it is 14:00 in London, it is:

03:00 in Samoa (14:00 - 11 hours)

08:00 in Mexico City (14:00 - 6 hours) 

11:00 in Brazil (14:00 - 3 hours)

15:00 in Paris (14:00 + 1 hour)

16:00 in South Africa (14:00 + 2 hours)

23:00 in Tokyo (14:00 + 9 hours)

02:00 (the following day) in Auckland (14:00 + 12 hours)

What is EdPlace?

We're your National Curriculum aligned online education content provider helping each child succeed in English, maths and science from year 1 to GCSE. With an EdPlace account you’ll be able to track and measure progress, helping each child achieve their best. We build confidence and attainment by personalising each child’s learning at a level that suits them.

Get started
laptop

Try an activity or get started for free

  • educational
  • bettfutures
  • cxa
  • pta
  • era2016
  • BDA award
  • Explore LearningTuition Partner
  • tacm